Cupcakes…Cupcakes…Cupcakes

19 May
I just finished my first major baking experience by making cupcakes for a coworker’s daughters graduation reception. The cupcakes were vanilla with sprinkles pink and green sprinkles mixed in. I then frosted them with swirled green and pink buttercream.  They turned out great and it was a task. I never thought my hand would make it through the 125th cupcake… it was killing from squeezing the frosting bag. I made it though!!
I also made my first decorated cake… ever! It was meant to be 2 layers, but the 2nd layer fell apart when I was leveling it. So I covered my one layer cake in a marshmallow fondant. It was the first time I worked with fondant and although it was a struggle to knead, I will work with it again because it looks so pretty! My creativity was stretched when it came time to decorate the cake and I ended up going with dots to complement the swirled cupcakes.
The cupcakes and cake were displayed on a tower for the reception and they were a hit! I will definitely be making a decorated cake sometime in the future, but I will need a break before I do cupcakes again! What do you think of how they turned out?? I’d love to hear your thoughts….
4 Responses to “Cupcakes…Cupcakes…Cupcakes”

  1. taratc May 19, 2009 at 9:24 pm #

    wow! WOW!!! I am so incredibly impressed. Are you doing this for fun… do you want to make a career (or like a second job thing) out of it. I think it is really really amazing!

    • Krystal May 19, 2009 at 9:35 pm #

      This batch was done as a job… I would love to make a job of this someday…. someday! Thanks for the praise! 🙂

  2. Ashleigh May 28, 2009 at 10:33 am #

    Someday when that dear cousin of your decides I AM THE GIRL FOR HIM!! will you make my wedding cake!??? You did a great job..

    • Krystal May 28, 2009 at 10:40 am #

      Well he better decide you are the girl for him or I’m gonna kick his butt! And I’d be honored to make the cake! Are you getting married in Iowa then?? Transporting the cake may be a problem… or I may have to take over Peggy’s kitchen! That would def. be an excuse to spend a few extra days out your way!! Miss you~ tell everyone hello!!!

Leave a Reply

