Your Safe Place

23 May

Just over a year ago, Zoey came into my life. Looking back on those first few weeks with my little furball, I never imagined she would ever prefer to be in her kennel. She wined like a little baby when I put her in her kennel. I often gave and in so she always would snuggle into bed with me, which I loved. It then became a fight for my pillow. She liked my space way more than she liked her space.

Things have changed over the last year. These days, the moment we go into my bedroom to go to sleep, Zoey is climbing in her kennel to nestle in for bed. She turns a few circles and moves the fluffy blanket just right and then settles in to sleep. I think it’s her safe place. It it comforting and familiar to her. In that place, she is unbothered and can just relax.

Dogs are a lot like humans. We all have our safe place. The place we go to relax. The place we go when we are sad,  or angry or just want to be alone. My place is my bed. No matter my mood, I feel most relaxed or comforted when I climb into bed. It’s my safe place. The place I go to forget about the stress of the day or the weather outside. It’s where I can let my mind be at ease and it’s the place I feel most safe.

Your place might be different than mine or Zoey’s, but the feeling you get in that place is the same. You are comfortable there. You are unbothered. You can relax. It’s the place you feel most safe.. your safe place.  Where is your safe place?

2 Responses to “Your Safe Place”

  1. curt&megan May 23, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    I’m loving the new layout of your blog!!! Great post about safe place too! Brynn also loves her crate…and the guest bedroom. 🙂

  2. Tara May 23, 2010 at 4:22 pm #

    My safe place is on the swings. Any swings will do but my favorite swings are at Lake Calhoun on the beach in Minneapolis.

Leave a Reply

