Christmas in July

26 Jul

I’m a day behind, but 6 months from yesterday will be…. CHRISTMAS! I know we all would love some cooler weather, but the cold that typically surrounds Christmas time can wait for those 6 months. The heat is unbearable at times, but I’ll deal for now. Since we know I don’t want the cold weather, you may ask why I’m highlighting Christmas in July. It could be for the presents, but I’m not ready to do all that shopping. It could be the time I’d like to spend with my family, but we are all too busy right now. So… it’s because of all the treats that surround the holidays.

Last year I cooked up a storm around Christmas time and documented all my treats… but the hustle and bustle of the holidays got the best of me and I didn’t get my treats posted on here. The wait is over. So in honor of Christmas in July, here is a look back a my treat platter and a recipe you should all try!

Snowman Brownie Pops: my version of the ones you can buy from William Sonoma

Chocolate Waffle Cookies: recipe below

Divinity: sugar, sugar and more sugar

Homemade Caramels: talk about indulgence

Kringla: a Christmas favorite

Peanut Clusters: just like my mom makes, reminds me of home

 

Chocolate Waffle Cookies

Cookies: 3 sq. unsweetened chocolate, 3 1/2 cup sugar (divided), 2 cup flour, 4 eggs, 1 tsp vanilla

Frosting: 1/2 cup milk, 1 stick oleo, 1/2- 3/4 cup chocolate chips

 

Melt unsweetened chocolate. Beat eggs and 1 1/2 cups sugar. Add to chocolate. Add vanilla and flour. Mix well. Put on hot waffle iron. Use several dabs of mixture to make individual cookies. Leave for 15-20 seconds. Remove with a fork. Frost each cookies with frosting made by boiling oleo, milk and 2 cups sugar for 30-45 seconds at a hard- rolling boil. Add chocolate chips. Beat until spreadable. Makes 50 cookies.


 

Leave a Reply

